It’s a bit obnoxious. I make this excellent chili for family gatherings and nobody ever calls it just “chili”. They always say “vegan chili”.

The other day I made some pumpkin bread. When me and my dad went over to my grandmas house, we brought it. My dad announced “She made some vegan pumpkin bread!”. Grandma knows I am vegan. So of course if I made it, it will be vegan, no need to state that.

I know this is a really stupid pet peeve that will probably get me downvoted to oblivion, but idk. Maybe someone here also gets it.

    • RvTV95XBeo@sh.itjust.works
      link
      fedilink
      English
      arrow-up
      0
      ·
      11 days ago

      “Traditional” depends on where you’re from. If OP’s family is from the US South, they probably consider traditional chili to be chili con carne.

    • mozingo@lemmy.world
      link
      fedilink
      English
      arrow-up
      0
      ·
      11 days ago

      “Chili” is a pepper. Chili con carne is the traditional dish. There’s no dish called “chili”. The version without meat is an adaptation that came later.